October 2010 – Infusion Day

Today began Sophie’s first round of infusion treatments for her ascites at the St Louis Children’s Hospital. All went well for the most part. She’s having trouble sleeping and is refusing to drink her bottles. We also had one spell where she got sick – probably because we were really pushing her bottle that contained her oral meds. She showed us by returning it a few minutes later.

But the stronger diuretics through IV infusion seem to be going fine. We have one more dose in the morning and then hopefully we’ll be released. Bryce and I met the surgeon that will be performing Sophie’s heart surgery. He spent some time going over what he thinks he’ll be doing and answered our questions. But of course they don’t always know exactly what will happen until they’re in the thick of things.

We were also able to get all of her pre-op testing and procedures done today. She had an Echo done by an acquaintance of Bryce (which I didn’t find out until later). He was very good and patient with her as she’s proven to be quite a pistol during these tests. But today I was proud when she finally calmed down because I had distracted her with a Sesame Street video I had loaded on my iPhone.

Sophie had 3 visitors today. Our friends Mary and Amy stopped by and spent some time with us. They brought me treats and a gossip magazine. Yummy, fun! Thanks you two!
Sophie also had a special Halloween visitor as you can see below. She just sat staring blankly at little Nell. But then when she walked away Sophie held out her hand. But of course when Nell came back Sophie just stared at her. I can only imagine what was going on in Sophie’s mind as she was trying to process what she was seeing. I’m just hoping she doesn’t get any ideas for our own dog.

Thanks for the prayers and encouragement. Things seem to be going fairly good so far.

~ by Jenny Bagwill on October 19, 2010.

5 Responses to “October 2010 – Infusion Day”

  1. Love the Elmo photo! 🙂 Praying you get to go home this morning!

  2. Came across you blogg via David Kalkin’s (Chopped Liver) blogg.
    I am on the liver transplant list at St James’ Hospital, Leeds, UK
    Just wanted to let you know that I have shared your situation with a small group that meets at our house every Thursday (we are part of a church that meet in Manchester) and we will be praying for you this Thursday evening that the op will goes well and that you and your husband will be given a peace that surpasses all understanding
    God Bless you all
    Denise Lamberth

    • Denise,
      I’ve been meaning to get back with you. Thank you so much for taking Sophie’s surgery to your prayer group. It means so much to think that people across the globe have been praying for her. Thank you so much and tell your grow thank for us.
      I’m curious about your liver situation. I would like to keep you in our prayers as well. Do you have a blog or space that you keep updates? If not, I’m sure I’ll run into you on David’s blog. I found him by accident when I did a search for liver transplant blogs. I like his writing and continue to visit there frequently. I hope and pray that God shows Himself in every step of your journey. Please keep us updated.
      Thanks!
      Jenny

  3. This is your cousin, Judy (Pat…Bryce…) I’m very thankful to receive your up-dated blogs with pictures on Sophie. I forward them to family & friends who also keep Sophie in their thoughts and prayers. Our main wish, at this time, is that her up-coming heart surgery on the 22nd is successful, and her recovery will be quick and give her the relief for which you’re hoping!! Each new picture of her is cuter and more precious than the one before! We’re thinking and praying for all of you! Love, Judy & family

  4. What wonderful friends you have there with you – – so glad!! I’m sure Nell ministered to Sophie in her own special way – – love it!! Sophie is in my constant prayers! I agree with Judy – each picture is sweeter than the one before!! Blessings to all – Lee, Erin & family 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
